Poet of the Month: Vasilina Orlova

Over the last three or four years, as I have immersed myself more and more in the world of poetry, I have encountered a lot of poets and/or their work. In some cases, what I have heard or read has provided inspiration for some of my own work. have been thinking recently that I want to acknowledge these folks, so I’m going to do so by acknowledging a different poet each month.

I start with Vasilina Orlova. Originally from the Russian Far East, she is now based in Austin, Texas. In addition to several books and translations in Russian, she has published two books of poems in English, Contemporary Bestiary (2014) and Holy Robots (2016). She is very active on Tumblr—so active that I am often in awe at how prolific she is. (Seriously. I can’t figure out how she has time for anything else.)

I have been trying to think of a good way to describe her writing, but I haven’t been able to come up with a description that would do it justice. Instead, I can only suggest you dive in and start reading. Make sure you have refreshments on hand; you’re going to be busy for a while…

Vasilina Orlova’s Tumblr blog: http://vasilinaorlova.tumblr.com/
Vasilina Orlova’s SoundCloud page: https://soundcloud.com/vasilina-orlova

(1 June 2017)

