I can crack my jaw at will (a poem)

Today’s late entry. I was trying to decide between this one and a poem about noodles; I chose this one because there’s no mention of vomiting…

I imagine this probably makes me look
like a diseased fish
or a little kid
trying to chew on
a golf-ball-sized jawbreaker

but once I start
it’s kind of hard to stop

Nothing is enough
to release that tightness
just below my temples—
or wherever exactly it is

If I’m lucky
I won’t be able to suppress a yawn
my mouth will open wide
then relax

It won’t take care of the urge
but it will distract me from the habit
for a while

(19 May 2017)

Leave a Reply

