Sound of the house on fire (let the motherfucker burn) (a poem)

Probably my last blitz poem of the month.

Body has a mind of its own
Body will contract without my permission
Permission has no say
Permission looks the other way
Way before I have a chance to object
Way before I can act to correct
Correct is not the answer I usually get
Correct is the answer I haven’t heard yet
Yet I count on corrections to help me get by
Yet they’re more and more in short supply
Supply forms go blank atop my desk
Supply forms go AWOL when the waiter brings the check
Check on me as I continue to rhyme
Check me in before I run out of time
Time grows late with the arc of the sun
Time feeds the darkness when day is done
Done now before I’ve had chance to begin
Done as the villain works on his evil grin
Grin instead of smiling when you’ve got something to hide
Grin when you can’t let on what goes on inside
Inside the gears gnash and turn
Inside sparks fly to fuel the flames as they burn
Burn her name in fields or in flesh
Burn away the overgrowth bundled in mesh
Mesh is the netting that traps ocean fish
Mesh is the coupling that lesser men wish
Wish for a miracle when times are hard
Wish upon talisman, charms, cards, and stars
Stars are too distant to blind with their light
Stars are countless in clear skies at night
Night masks our fears while drawing them out
Night screams in stillness too loud for us to shout
Shout to make them flinch
Shout to make them notice
Notice there’s something very very wrong
Notice something’s going to happen before long
Long ago and far away
Long-ago history resurfacing today
Today the scary orange man with the funny name
Today the scary orange man with no sense of shame
Shame is for the mindful who think and feel and care
Shame is wasted on the shameless who are shameless everywhere
Everywhere we turn
Everywhere more fires will burn
Burn this shaky house to the ground
Burn so hot that only flames make sound
Sound will alert some to the call
Sound will overpower those who hear nothing at all
Nothing at all
not even the call

 

(28 February 2017)

