A resistance poem

Lots of Writers Resist events happening today. What follows is as close as I get to writing a poem on the topic of resistance. I think it is safe to say that I have a slightly different take on the subject…

1
I have been resisting all my life

Early bedtimes
summer employment
fads
fashions
summer blockbusters
religious dogma
new jack swing
logical career paths
stupid people
statins

I have a stubborn streak
unrivalled by few people
outside of my immediate family

or Bernie Mac in Bad Santa (‘half’)

2
Today
when so many are calling for resistance
I vow to resist

I vow to resist adopting the behaviors of my opponents
I vow to resist equating passion with valid reasoning
I vow to resist going along with the crowd for the sake of convenience
I vow to resist fighting for the sake of fighting

I vow to resist the belief that good intentions are enough
I vow to resist the belief that agreeing with me means you are on my side
I vow to resist the belief that action means you are doing something
I vow to resist the belief that my beliefs mean more or less than yours

I vow to resist the tendency to take arguments at face value
I vow to resist the tendency to skip the bits I don’t like
I vow to resist the tendency to let someone else ask the questions
I vow to resist the tendency to interpret words as action

I vow to resist doing anything on someone else’s terms
If I can’t live with my own actions
there’s no way I can live with yours

(15 January 2017)

One thought on “A resistance poem

Comments are closed.