Ill-fitting disguise (a poem)

I just started watching this Japanese series, Fujiko, on Hulu. A couple of moments got me going on this…

Somebody likened that thought to murder
I always thought it was more like
a case of mistaken identity
or a disguise
ill-fitting

A railroad crossing signal
ignored
a foot caught between the rail and the pavement
shoes tied too tight

Every drum punch
                                                thum-thum!
a shot to the face
                                                thum-thum!
to be taken
                                                thum-thum!
because it hurts too much
                                                thum-thum!
if you don’t

Blood pulses
every second of the day

You’d think the heart would grow tired—
or maybe it does but it keeps on going
because what else is it going to do?

I once thought
The End of the World
was bleak

Now I know
we haven’t seen the worst yet

Somebody likened that thought to genocide
I thought it was just no future
like the one we won’t have
when we die
that ill-fitting disguise

(30 December 2016)

