One breath, another breath (a poem)

An ekphrastic poem, inspired by Frank Perry’s album Zodiac.

Where the stars meet silence
I am on guard
I am too accustomed to silence

One breath
Another breath

Gongs mark where grains shift
before tumbling down glass
to strike the drum

One breath
Another breath

The chambers in which we choose to live
hold space for every condition
then let us go

One breath
Another breath

Silence marks the space between events
enter the daydream
winding its way between the clouds

One breath
Another breath

My voice would crack were I to speak
so I listen to the sounds I make
when I’m not speaking

One breath
Another breath

Amidst the growing echo and drone
of doubts jostling for position
I fight for calm

One breath
Another breath

A drink from the glass
throat catches before swallowing
Warmth radiates outward

One breath
Another breath

(23 September 2016)

