ART 53, day 43

This Is Fifty-Three, day 43

Getting closer to a cover. Here is what I have narrowed the choices down to:

#1. A modified version of my original first draft. I overlaid a thin red stroke on the right edge of the photo just because. What I like about this version is its simplicity—straightforward in presentation, without gimmicks. The only misgiving I have is that it is extremely unusual for a poetry collection to have a photograph of the poet on the cover. It is intended to be an honest portrait of me at this point in my life, but I could see it being misinterpreted as a sign of ego.

Screen Shot 2016-08-05 at 18.00.18

#2. Since coming up with #1 above, I am no longer so keen on this compromise. I like the back (indeed, it shows up in the other versions below), but now I think the red lines/boxes over the photo are gratuitous. I think this one is out.

Screen Shot 2016-08-05 at 18.00.57

#3. I do like this simplified version of the drafts with the funky lines. I can see a slight adjustment needed on the front (i.e., changing the angle of those two lines to match the back); otherwise, I also like the simplicity of this one, as well as the white space. It’s kind of minimalist, but without being po-faced.

Screen Shot 2016-08-05 at 18.01.16

#4. I like this one for similar reasons. The funky shape on the front came from drawing with my graphics tablet; I like that it captures some of the spirit of the earlier approach, but has some curves and a sense of fun. Whether or not I use this as the cover, I have already put this on the title page.

Screen Shot 2016-08-05 at 18.00.37

(5 August 2016)

 

