National Poetry Writing Month: Day #14 (April 14, 2014)

Today’s prompt comes from Day 14 of the  2014 April PAD Challenge at Writer’s Digest:

[T]ake the phrase ‘If I Were (blank),’ replace the blank with a word or phrase, make the new phrase the title of your poem, and then write the poem.

IF I WERE SOMEONE ELSE

I
If I were someone else
I might be able to see all the things I can’t

If I were someone else
I might be able to do all the things I don’t

If I were someone else
I might be able to be all the things I’m not

II
If I were someone else

I could have that conversation

If I were someone else
I could make a difference

If I were someone else
I could finish what I started

If I were someone else
I could relax a little

III
If I were someone else
I wouldn’t care that I don’t know

If I were someone else
I wouldn’t care how it looks

If I were someone else
I wouldn’t care what they think

If I were someone else
I wouldn’t care what happens next

IV
If I were someone else

you wouldn’t know me

(14 April 2014)

 

napo2014button1

