National Poetry Writing Month: Day #18 (April 18, 2013)

Today’s prompt: write a poem that begins and ends with the same word. Given the whirlwind-of-change-inspired self-reflection of the last few months, it was almost too easy. Not that the poem itself was necessarily easy, just the challenge…

I haven’t stopped for long
though time seems to stretch
out this moment
beyond tolerance
Unannounced delays
test my patience

The push and pull wears me down
to the depths where the surface
is nearly scratched away
into nothingness

The thin ice beneath
offers no support
I slip and slide and struggle for breath
while the lake cracks all around me
I haven’t got much longer,
have I?

(18 April 2013)

Leave a Reply

