National Poetry Writing Month: Day #5 (April 5, 2013)

I partly ignored today’s writing promptA cinquain doesn’t sound like much of a stretch for me, since I often write in stanzas of five lines—but I really don’t want to get so technical with my writing. It’s enough for me that I sometimes am able to establish a particular rhythm within a piece…

This morning
I rose too soon
but could not fall back asleep
Now half the day is gone
again

Fuzzy logic
is the price I pay
for four-and-a-half hours of sleep
because I stayed up too late
again

Today
that means no coffee
and between the sheets by ten (okay, ten-thirty)
Must get back to sleep
again

Tomorrow morning
when I wake up
the cats will demand breakfast
Time to open a new can
again

A day will come
when I change the way
I do things
Will you be ready?
Will I?

(5 April 2013)

Leave a Reply

