National Poetry Writing Month: Day #4 (April 4, 2013)

Today, I actually went with the writing prompt—i.e., “write a poem with a title drawn from one of [the Iain M. Banks] spaceship names”…

A Fine Disregard for Awkward Facts

People don’t travel
by stop-motion photography
anymore
Perhaps if we can re-arrange
our formation slightly
we can change that

That plush toy staring at me
isn’t real
But it makes more sense
than I do
Perhaps if I try hard enough
I can change its mind

This dog kept talking
through the entire movie
I wanted to get my money back
but he’s the manager
Perhaps if I ask nicely enough
he’ll give me a job

Nanobots don’t need
to form unions
They already work so well together
and that seems such a small thing
Perhaps if we hide all the microscopes
the problem will go away

My mirror self
sees everything backwards
from my point of view
Perhaps he can read
those secret messages
the corporations have been sending me

It’s time to wake up now

(4 April 2013)

